Gateways Music Festival
Sundays @ 7PM

The Gateways Music Festival Orchestra is comprised of musicians of African descent under the leadership of conductor Anthony Parnther. This radio series celebrates the ensemble’s mission of connecting and supporting classical musicians of African descent and serving as a source of inspiration, enlightenment and engagement for communities -- especially communities underrepresented in classical music.


Catalyst Quartet
Armenta Hummings Dumisani, piano
Thapelo Masita, cello

Johann Sebastian Bach:  Jesu, Joy of Man’s Desiring
Jessie Montgomery:  Banner
Howard Swanson:  The Cuckoo
Traditional: There is a Balm in Gilead
Johann Sebastian Bach:  Cello Suite No. 1
Traditional: When Asked Wherein My Hope Lies
Traditional: Amazing Grace
Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson:  Lamentations - IV.


Gateways Orchestra
Michael Morgan, conductor
American Spiritual Ensemble
Dr. Everett McCorvey, conductor
Alex Laing, clarinet; David Berry, piano; Mikael Darmanie, piano; Celesta Day, soprano

Traditional:  Give Me Jesus
Carlos Simon:  Amen
Traditional:  Spirituals
Trevor Weston:  Eurythmy Variations
Adolphus Hailstork:  An American Port of Call


Valerie Coleman:  Afro
Imani Winds

Fred Emory Smith:  Suite No. 1
Ralph Barnett, Jimmie Finnie, Malcolm Jackson, Donn Johns and Terry McKinney, percussion

Antonin Dvorak:  Serenade for Winds, Op. 44
Antonin Dvorak:  Serenade for Strings, Op. 22
Gateways Chamber Ensemble
Antoine Clark, conductor

Eustacio Rosales:  Bolero
Ralph Barrett, Douglas Cardwell, Eric Goldberg, Donnie Johns and Terry McKinney, percussion

Igor Stravinsky:  A Soldier's Tale
Gateways Chamber Ensemble


Quincy Jones:  Nettie Teaches Celie
Studio Orchestra

Michael Abels:  Delights and Dances
Gateways Orchestra
Michael Morgan, conductor

Malcolm Arnold:  Quintet for Brass
Gateways Brass Collective

Lalo Schifrin:  La Nouvelle Orleans
Imani Winds

Maurice Ravel:  La Valse
Gateways Orchestra
Michael Morgan, conductor


Samuel Coleridge-Taylor:  Serenade
Catalyst Quartet

Valerie Coleman:  Portraits of Josephine
Jacqueline Cordova Arrington, flute; Geoffrey Johnson, oboe; Monica Ellis, bassoon; LeTriel White, clarinet; Priscilla Rinehart, horn

Fela Sowande:  Jubilate, Go Down Moses
Nathaniel Gumbs, organ

William Grant Still:  Sahdji
London Symphony Orchestra and Chorus
Paul Freeman, conductor


Margaret Bonds:  Sing of the King Who Was Tall and Brown
Dussoff Choir and Orchestra
Malcolm J. Merriweather, conductor

Chick Corea:  String Quartet No. 1
Duke Ellington:  Take the A Train
Harlem Quartet

Florence Price:  Symphony No. 3
Gateways Orchestra
Michael Morgan, conductor


R. Nathaniel Dett:  Madrigal Divine
Denver Oldham, piano

Richard Danielpour: From the Mountaintop
Gateways Orchestra
Michael Morgan, conductor
Anthony McGill, clarinet

Florence Price: Violin Concerto No. 2
Janacek Philharmonic
Ryan Cockerham, conductor
Er-Gene Kahng, violin

James Cockerham: Fantasia on "Lift Every Voice and Sing"
Gateways Orchestra
Michael Morgan, conductor