San Francisco Symphony

Tuedays @ 8pm

Since its founding in 1911, the San Francisco Symphony has been known for innovative programs that offer a spectrum of traditional repertory and new music. Today, the Orchestra's artistic vitality, recordings, and groundbreaking multimedia educational projects carry its impact throughout American musical life. Broadcast concerts of the San Francisco Symphony highlight astounding performances from the orchestra's long history, with performances from prestigious soloists, guest conductors, and Esa-Pekka Salonen, the Symphony's newest Music Director.


Esa-Pekka Salonen, conductor

Hannah Kendall:  Tuxedo - Vasco de Gama
Unsuk Chin:  Graffiti
Ludwig van Beethoven:  Symphony No. 7 in A Major, Op. 92


Esa-Pekka Salonen, conductor
Jeremy Denk, piano
Claire Chase, flute

Claude Debussy:  Prelude a L'apres-midi d'un faune
Olivier Messiaen:  Oiseaux exotiques
Kaija Saariaho:  Aile du songe
Claude Debussy:  La mer


Esa-Pekka Salonen, conductor
Pekka Kuusisto, violin

Ludwig van Beethoven:  Leonore Overture No. 2, Op. 72
Bryce Dessner:  Violin Concerto
Franz Schubert:  Symphony No. 5 in B-flat Major, D. 485


Esa-Pekka Salonen, conductor
Yefim Bronfman, piano

Anders Hillborg:  Kongsgaard Variations
Richard Strauss:  Symphony in E-flat Major
Ludwig van Beethoven:  Piano Concerto No. 3 in C minor, Op. 37