Intimate Guitar




The Intimate Guitar
with Jim McCutcheon
Saturdays @ 6pm and
Sundays @ 9am

The Intimate Guitar is Jim McCutcheon's weekly celebration of "the instrument held closest to the heart." Jim presents selections from a vast library of music and artists from around the world for the guitar in both solo and chamber settings. At the end of each program, Jim offers a bit of "dessert" - artistic, non-classical performances including jazz, fingerstyle and other fretted instruments.

The programs below are listed according to their initial broadcast dates on Saturday evening. The same programs will be repeated on Sunday morning.


This week's program includes music of composer Richard Jordan Smoot played by guitarist Christopher Teves; Ali Arango; Michala Petri and Daniel Murray; and dessert with Todd Mosby.


This week's program features music for guitar and strings by James Lentini performed by Iliana Matos; the Brazil Guitar Quartet; the Nova Guitar Duo; and dessert with Keith Lykins.


This week's program features music of Carlos Barbosa-Lima; Jose Antonio Escobar; Cristiano Poli Cappelli; the Duo Siqueira-Lima; and dessert with the duo Perpetual Motion.


This week's program features music of Giuliano Belotti; Celil Refik Kaya; Giulio Tampalini; and dessert with Alexander Palm and Django's Tigers.


This week's program features music of the EOS guitar quartet; Cinzia Milani; Alexander Palm playing music of Jaroslav Netter; and dessert featuring music of the season with the Small-Torres Duo. 


This week's program features music for violin and guitar by Piercarlo Sacci and Andrea Dieci; soprano Joanna Klisowska joins guitarist Giulio Tampalini performing music of Castelnuovo-Tedesco; Salvatore Fortunato plays music of Dilermando Reis; and dessert features music of the season with Joel Brown.


This week's program features music of the season with Joe Pass; Adam Rafferty; harpist Nicole Muller; the Ware-Patterson Duo; Muriel Anderson; and the Small-Torres Duo.


For the last Intimate Guitar of 2019, it's a program of Grand Finales! Exciting final movements from multi-movement works featuring Sharon Isbin and the Pacifica Quartet; violinist Kim Sjogren and guitarist Lars Hannibal; guitarist Rupert Boyd and cellist Laura Metcalf; and guitarist Cristiano Porqueddu.