Deutsche Welle Festival Concerts
Sundays @ 8PM

The German festival season presents a cross-section of the world's most exciting classical music artists and a mix of repertoire from old favorites to new discoveries. Hosted by Rick Fulker, Deutsche Welle Festival Concerts is a weekly series of electrifying performances by top German orchestras along with superb ensembles from abroad.


Ronald Brautigam, fortepiano

Joseph Haydn:  Fantasy in C Major
Joseph Haydn:  Sonata No. 56 in D Major
Joseph Haydn:  Capriccio in G Major
Ferdinand Ries:  The Dream, Op. 49
Ludwig van Beethoven:  Sonata No. 13 in E-flat Major, Op. 27 No. 1
Ludwig van Beethoven:  Fantasy in B Major, Op. 77
Ludwig van Beethoven:  Sonata No. 14 in C-sharp minor, Op. 27 No. 2 "Moonlight"


North Rhine Westphalian State Youth Accordion Orchestra
National Youth Orchestra of Germany
Ukraine Youth Orchestra
Oksana Lyniv, conductor
Tobias Feldmann, violin; Konstantin Manaev, cello; Kateryna Titova, piano

Franz Xaver Mozart:  Overture in D Major
Boris Lyatoshinsky:  On the Banks of the Vistula, Op. 59
Bohdan Sehin:  Galician Fantasy
Ludwig van Beethoven:  Triple Concerto in C minor, Op. 56


Gustav Mahler Youth Orchestra
Ingo Metzmacher, conductor
Jean-Yves Thibaudet, piano

Arnold Schoenberg: Accompaniment to a Cinematographic Scene, Op. 34
George Gershwin: Concerto in F
Bela Bartok: Suite from The Miraculous Mandarin, Op. 19
Maurice Ravel: Suite No. 2 from Daphnis and Chloe


Les Musiciens du Louvre
Bonn Philharmonic Chorus
Sebastien Rouland, conductor
Anaik Morel, mezzo-soprano; Mathias Vidal, tenor

Christoph Willibald Gluck: Excerpts from Orpheus and Euridice
Joseph Haydn: Excerpts from L'Anima del filosofo, ossia Orfeo ed Euridice
Hector Berlioz: Les nuits d'ete
Charles Gounod:  Excerpts from Romeo et Juliette
Jacques Offenbach: Excerpt from Orphee aux enfers


Hermann Max, conductor
Rheinische Kantorei Chorus
Das kleine Konzert

Sethus Calvisius: Our life lasts seventy years

Johann Hermann Schein:  Our life lasts seventy years
Johann Hermann Schein:  Behold, it was for the sake of my comfort that I was so fearful
Johann Hermann Schein:  Three beautiful things are

Johann Sebastian Bach:  Our life is a shadow

Johann Christoph Bach:  Fear not
Johann Christoph Bach:  Though the righteous man die too soon

Johann Kuhnau:  My soul is sad

Johann Ludwig Bach:  I never left you for a moment

Giacomo Carissimi:  Excerpts from Jephtah

Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach:  Your heart frequently laments

Gottfried August Homilius:  I rejoice in the Lord
Gottfried August Homilius:  Our Father in Heaven

Johann Adam Hiller:  All flesh is as grass

Johann Sebastian Bach:  The spirit comes to help our weakness


Bamberg Symphony Orchestra
Jakub Hrusa, conductor
Betsy Horne, soprano; Vesselina Kasarova, mezzo-soprano

Ernest Chausson: Poeme de l'amour et de la mer  
Gyorgy Ligeti: Lontano
Hector Berlioz: La mort de Cleopatre
Franz Schubert: Symphony No. 8 in C Major, D. 944 "The Great"


Mahler Chamber Orchestra
Francois Xavier Roth, conductor
Jean-Guihen Queyras, cello

Bela Bartok:  Rumanian Folk Dances
Bela Bartok:  Divertimento for Strings
Joseph Haydn:  Cello Concerto No. 2 in D Major
Joseph Haydn:  Symphony No. 96 in D Major "Miracle"
Henri Dutilleux:  Three Verses on the name Paul Sacher

Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra
Hannu Lintu, conductor
Sol Gabetta, cello

Bohuslav Martinu:  Cello Concerto No. 1 - II. and III.
Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky:  Lensky's Aria from Eugen Onegin