Pittsburgh Symphony
Tuesdays @ 8PM

The Pittsburgh Symphony has been heard on the radio since radio began in Pittsburgh with early broadcasts on Pittsburgh’s KDKA in the 1920s. Its first network broadcasts appeared on the NBC Blue network in 1936. Today WQED is the official voice of the Pittsburgh Symphony. The station has broadcast weekly Pittsburgh Symphony concerts since 1974, and Jim Cunningham has been the host since 1980.


Christoph Konig, conductor
Hila Plitman, soprano

Joseph Haydn: Symphony No. 22, "The Philospher"
Richard Danielpour: Darkness in the Ancient Valley
Richard Strauss: Also Sprach Zarathustra


Manfred Honeck, conductor
Helene Grimaud, piano

Johann Sebastian Bach (orch. Stokowski): Toccata and Fugue in D minor
Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 4
Johannes Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 1


Manfred Honeck, conductor
Mendelssohn Choir of Pittsburgh
Betsy Burleigh, director

Burke/Jang/Rosenblum/Vali/Williams: The Elements
Gustav Holst: The Planets


Mendelssohn Choir of Pittsburgh
Betsy Burleigh, conductor
Lisa Saffer, soprano; Margaret Lattimore, mezzo-soprano; Philippe Castagner, tenor; Sanford Sylvan, bass

George Frideric Handel: Messiah


Mariss Jansons, conductor
Leif Ove Andsnes, piano

Robert Schumann: Piano Concerto in A minor
Michael Hersch: Ashes of Memory, Mvt 2
Jean Sibelius: Symphony No. 2
Jean Sibelius: Valse Triste


Gianandrea Noseda, conductor
Jean-Efflam Bavouzet, piano

Alfredo Casella: Symphonic Fragments from La donna serpente
Sergei Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No. 5
Robert Schumann: Symphony No. 2


Gianandrea Noseda, conductor
Joshua Bell, violin

Edouard Lalo: Symphonie espagnole for Violin and Orchestra
Franz Liszt: A Faust Symphony


Leonard Slatkin, conductor
Michel Camilo, piano

Paul Dukas: The Sorcerer's Apprentice
Michel Camilo: Piano Concerto No. 2, "Tenerife"
Maurice Ravel: Alborada del gracioso
Maurice Ravel: Pavane pour une infante defunte
Maurice Ravel: Menuet antique
Maurice Ravel: Bolero