Saturdays @ 9PM

Fiesta! is devoted to Latino concert music and presents artistically significant compositions from Latin America, Spain and Portugal to listeners. The creative force behind this series is Elbio Barilari, an acclaimed composer, musician, performer and professor at the University of Illinois at Chicago. The Uruguayan-born Barilari says, "Fiesta! features the hottest Latin-American music from the 16th to the 21st centuries."


Music, Places, Memories
Despite periodic claims that musical work and their titles must be purified of extra-musical associations, viewed by purists as "romantic deviations," composers of all eras have written pieces that evoke a particular street, a neighborhood, a town, a river, a mountain.


Modern Harpsichord
The harpsichord sounds, to most ears, as an instrument exclusively related to music from the Baroque period. Spanish and Latin American composers from the 20th century, however, have written many pieces dedicated to the venerable instrument.


Gypsy Music and Gypsy Influences
Several thousand years ago the forebears of the present day Gypsy people left India. Their descendants have spread throughout the world and their cultural influence is still very vibrant, especially around the Mediterranean. Flamenco music has nurtured the inspiration of Spanish composers, even before Albéniz and to the current time.


Fiesta of the Guitar
Celebrating a wide range of Latin-American guitar music, this program explores the thriving crossover of classical style and popular folk and cultural themes, an intersection which has a rich history and continuing tradition of innovative guitar music.


Music from Cuba
As one of the jewels of the Spanish empire, the island of Cuba developed strong cultural traditions. Havana and other towns boasted of a very rich music life center on the cathedrals, churches and convents. From the 18th century Esteban Salas, to living composers such as Leo Brouwer, Paquito D'Rivera and Tania León, Cuba has been one of the powerhouses of music in the Americas.


The Carlevaro Brothers
Abel Carlevaro is known worldwide as one of the top masters of the guitar in the second part of the 20th century. However, few people outside Rio de La Plata are aware of his brother and fellow guitarist Agustín Carlevaro. When the Carlevaro brothers were young some thought Agustín was going to be the famous musician. Instead, Agustín became a very well respected architect. While Abel as developing his international career as interpreter, pedagogue and composer, Abel centered his musical endeavors on Tango as music for the guitar.


Don Quixote in Music
The monumental book by Miguel de Cervantes, the first novel in European literature, has captured the imagination of composers from different periods and countries, including Richard Strauss, of course. In this program we will hear how Spanish and Latin American composers reflected on the Knight of the Sad Countenance.


A Mexican Concert
Close your eyes and imagine you're attending a concert at Palacio de Bellas Artes in Mexico City. A delightful overture by Ricardo Castro, Jorge Federico Osorio performing the monumental Piano Concerto by Carlos Chavez, movie music by Silvestre Revueltas and Joaquin Guiterrez's Eras Suite Sinfonica, and even a surprising encore.


Colonial Music from Latin America
The vast treasure of colonial music coming from the archives of the cathedrals, from Brazil to California and from Perú to México City has become a favorite among Fiesta's listeners. Join us for a new visit to the Baroque and Gallant music produced in this side of the Atlantic.


The "Other" Joaquín Rodrigo
The tremendous popularity of Concierto de Aranjuez has made of Joaquín Rodrigo almost a "one piece composer" or a "composer for the guitar," which cannot be farther from the truth. In this program Fiesta! reviews vocal, piano and chamber music by this composer.


Painting With Sounds
Exploring the connections between visual art and musical creation in Latin American music.