Concerts from the Library of Congress
Sundays @ 7PM

Concerts from the Library of Congress is now in its 90th year of broadcasts from historic Coolidge Auditorium.  Host Bill McGlaughlin delves into the Library's music collections, rediscovering manuscripts, instruments and artifacts that tell the stories behind the music.  This season's outstanding performers include the St. Lawrence Quartet, mezzo-soprano Anne Sofie von Otter, Apollo's Fire and the Handel and Haydn Society.


St. Lawrence Quartet
Pedja Muzijevic, piano
Kim Kashkashian, viola
Peter Nagy, piano

Johannes Brahms:  Viola Sonata in E-flat Major, Op. 120 No. 2
Amy Beach:  Piano Quintet in F-sharp minor, Op. 67


Bach Collegium Japan
Masaaki Suzuki, conductor
Joanne Lunn, soprano

Antonio Vivaldi:  Oboe Concerto in C Major, RV 450
Johann Sebastian Bach:  Cantata No. 51 "Jauchzet Gott in allen Landen," BWV 51
Antonio Vivaldi:  Recorder Concerto in C Major, RV 443


Ludwig van Beethoven:  String Quartet in F Major, Op. 59 No. 1 "Razumovsky"
Michelangelo Quartet

Helen Grime:  Three Whistler Miniatures
Claremont Trio


Anne Sofie von Otter, mezzo-soprano
Jonathan Cohen, harpsichord and portative organ
Thomas Dunford, archlute


Eric Ruske, French horn
Jennifer Frautschi, violin
Gloria Chien, piano

Johannes Brahms:  Horn Trio in E-flat Major, Op. 40


Borromeo Quartet

Bela Bartok:  Quartet No. 5
Ludwig van Beethoven:  Cavatina from String Quartet in B-flat Major, Op. 130


Apollo's Fire
Jeannette Sorrell, conductor
Amanda Forsythe, soprano

Marco Uccellini (arr. Sorrell):  Aria quinta, sopra la Bergamasca
George Frideric Handel:  "Il primo ardor" from Ariodante, HWV 33
George Frideric Handel:  Grave from Oboe Concerto No. 3, HWV 287
George Frideric Handel:  "Geloso tormento" from Almira, HWV 1
Antonio Vivaldi:  Concerto for Four Violins in B minor, RV 580
George Frideric Handel:  "Piangero? la sorte mia" from Giulio Cesare in Egitto, HWV 17
Henry Purcell: "If Love's a Sweet Passion" from The Fairy Queen


Robert Schumann:  Humoreske, Op. 20
Richard Goode, piano

Robert Schumann:  Piano Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 47
Daniel Hope, violin;  Paul Neubauer, viola;  David Finckel, cello;  Wu Han, piano